The independent London newspaper

Teachers celebrated at glitzy awards night

Dr Who actor pays tribute to ‘vibrant borough’

14 February, 2020 — By Calum Fraser

Christopher Eccleston with Outstanding Achievement Award winner Jo Dibbs

HARD-WORKING teachers across the borough were celebrated at a glitzy awards ceremony this week with Dr Who actor Christopher Eccleston among the celebrities announcing the winners.

Support workers, special needs teachers and headteachers picked up gongs at the Islington Education Awards on Monday at the stunning LSO St Luke’s building in Clerkenwell.

Mr Eccleston, actress Dame Sian Phillips and Islington North MP Jeremy Corbyn were among the big names on the night to present awards.

Thornhill Primary School’s Jenny Lewis, who was crowned Headteacher of the Year, told the Tribune: “It was a real surprise, I was not expecting it at all. I feel honoured just being nominated.”

She added: “Our big thing is all children have access to cultural capital so they have the right vocabulary to engage in conversations about the arts, science, maths and business. We are about real-life experiences that embed learning.

Jenny Lewis receiving her award from Kalpesh Savjani of sponsor Transform Islington Ltd

“On Friday afternoons we take all kids off the formal timetable and we bring in external pro­viders and use expertise in the parent community, some of them are specialists in arts, science and entrepreneurs.”

Other winners on the night included Louise Norman from St MaryMagdalene Academy for Special School Educator of the Year; and St Mark’s CoE Primary School’s Kamal Kuti, who took home the Product of Islington Of Award for his work with students’ families.

Mr Eccleston, who presented the Outstanding Achievement Award to to Jo Dibbs, executive headteacher of Islington Futures Federation of Community Schools, said: “At a time when we’re experiencing so much negativity globally to see this tiny, vibrant borough being celebrated, and see people celebrating each other and having a common goal – our future – it’s wonderful.”

Classroom Support of the Year winner for primary schools went to Bernie Kelly of Sacred Heart RC while Alex Suksiri of The Bridge Integrated Learning Space won it for secondary schools.


Share this story

Post a comment